Randal Og v Lough Rovers - 2017-05-07 21:20:00

The first round of the County junior B hurling championship was played off on Saturday evening, 5th May, with Randals meeting Lough Rovers at Ballinhassig.  Randals who, unlike our opponents, had no league game played were probably at a slight disadvantage going into this one but over all it was a close hard game with little between them on the scoreline for the most part and with the result in doubt right up to the final whistle.

Seadhna Crowley, who was on free taking duty, was first to score, sending over a point after five minutes. Two points from Lough Rovers came, with Seadhna scoring an equaliser around the tenth minute. Lough Rovers quickly regained the lead and were 0-4 to 0-2 ahead early in the second quarter.

Mark Shanahan, with two great points on the twenty second and twenty third minutes, made it level again and Seadhna Crowley was on target with two frees coming up to half time to leave it 0-6 to 0-4 at the break.

He sent over three more in the early minutes of the second half, to open a five point lead. The Lough Rovers fight back came quickly after that and scored three points in succession , 0-9 to 0-7.

Owen O'Sullivan picked up a well placed pass from Brian Dullea and scored a spectacular point to increase the lead again, but Lough Rovers were back more and one, two, three, points made it all square 0-10 to 0-10.

A vital score from Shane Patterson regained the lead, as the final minutes approached, but once again Lough Rovers replied in kind and it was 0-11 to 0- 11 going into injury time. Randals launched one last assault on the Lough Rovers goal and came very close to scoring a decisive goal. It fell to Seadhna Crowley to send over the last and match winning score very close to the final whistle.

At full time it was Randal Og  0-12  Lough Rovers 0-11.

Team: Patrick Lynch, Paraic White, Kieran O'Brien, Damien McCarthy, Owen O'Sullivan, Gerard Lynch, Barry Lynch, Conor O'Donovan, Shane Patterson, Mark Shanahan, Brian Dullea, Seadhna Crowley, Gearoid White, Aidan O'Sullivan, Kevin Dullea

Subs: Jamie Kearney, Ted Nyhan, Colm McSweeney.

Next up;  Quarter-finals.

Lotto Results


No winner of Monday nights lotto draw

3 Lucky Dip Winners

€50 - Sophie O'Connell, Edencurra

€25 - Eileen Harrington, Nedineagh

€25 - Michael O'Donovan, Manch

Next draw will take place on Monday 2nd October for a jackpot prize of €3,000