Junior football championship Randal og v Goleen - 2017-07-31 16:28:00

The football championship quarter-final match versus  Goleen was played at Castlehaven on Saturday evening last, 29th July.

A tough hard fought game it was with the outcome in doubt right up the closing minutes.

Randals were into the attack from the throw in and scoring chances were created but did not yield results. It was Goleen who were first to score, a point in the third minute. Sam Kingston's equaliser came quickly but Goleen, with three in succession, made it 0-4 to 0-1.

Fergal Kelly landed his first point around the tenth minute but Goleen increased their lead again with two more points coming up to the twenty minute mark. Fergal Kelly was on target again a minute later. Goleen responded in kind but, with Randals gaining control at midfield, Fergal got his third score and Seadhna Crowley added another from a free.

It was  0-7 to 0-5  at half time.

Randals stepped up pressure in the early stages of the second half. Seadhna Crowley, from a free, made it a one point game and Brian Dullea sent over the equaliser. Fergal Kelly's fourth point made it 0-8 to 0-7 by the sixth minute.

An unfortunate injury to a member of the Goleen team necessitated a call to the Emergency Ambulance  Service and the game had to be held up for over thirty minutes.

There was still about twenty minutes to play on resumption. 

Goleen got an early equaliser. Scores were hard to come by in the closing stages. With about ten minutes to go  Goleen regained the lead. Two Seadhna Crowley frees, within a minute of each other, made it 

0-10 to 0-9. Further scoring efforts went unrewarded and it was Goleen with points, again from frees, who ran out winners.

At full time it was:  Goleen  0-11  Randal Og 0-10.

Another disappointing result, with an exit from the championship, but the team gave it every thing they had and it would have very little to see the result going the other way. Injuries incurred during the game also contributed.

Team : Denis Lynch, JJ Hurley, Aidan O'Brien, Colm McSweeney, Sam Kingston, Ian Crowley, Barry Lynch, Brian Dullea, Gerard Lynch, Patrick Lynch, Shane Patterson, Paraic White, Gearoid White, Fergal Kelly, Seadhna Crowley.

Subs: Patrick Crowley, Ronan Daly.

Lotto Results


No winner of this fornight's lotto jackpot

3 Lucky Dip Winners

€50 - John McCarthy, Dunmanway

€25 - Finbarr Lynch, Bunanumera

€25 - Daniel O'Connell, Edencurra

Next draw will take place on Monday 11th July for a jackpot of €3,000

As always thank you for supporting our club lotto