Junior hurling championship Randal Og v Barryroe - 2017-08-21 22:38:00

Randals and Barryroe met at Rossmore on Sunday evening, 20th August, in the second round of the  junior B hurling championship. 

Conditions were not ideal but the teams overcame these during the course of the game.

The opening quarter was fairly evenly contested, Barryroe took an early lead, with two points in the first two minutes. Seadhna Crowley, from a free, and Sam Kingston made it level with six minutes gone. 

Seadhna Crowley points in the seventh and eighth minutes and a Barryroe point in the ninth minute left it 0-4 to 0-3.

Randals' scoring rate during the second quarter was probably the deciding factor in the game, Seadhna  Crowley pointed a free around the fifteenth minute. He added another from an acute angle a minute later. More points  came from Johnny Collins, Owen O'Sullivan, Johnny Collins again, Sam Kingston and Patrick Crowley but the most significant score was the first goal of the game, finished off by Patrick Crowley around the twentieth minute.

Barryroe  got only one score during this period, a point from a free after twenty three minutes

Randals had a lead of 1-11 to 0-5 at half time.

Scores came thick and fast in the early minutes of the second half. Patrick Crowley, Seadhna Crowley, Johnny Collins and Patrick Galvin were again on target with Barryroe getting three back in between. It was 1-15 to 0-8 with twenty minutes to go.

Increased pressure from Barryroe came in the closing quarter but the Randals' defence held firm and, with Brian Dullea dominant at full back, very little got through. Two Seadhna Crowley frees increased the margin further before Barryroe eventually got through for a goal a few minutes before the final whistle. It was Randal Og  1-19  Barryroe  1-10 at full time.

This win puts Randals through to the semi-finals to be played in a few weeks time.

Team : Patrick Lynch, Damien McCarthy, Brian Dullea, David White, Conor O'Donovan, Gerard Lynch, Barry Lynch, Shane Patterson, Owen O'Sullivan, Seadhna Crowley, Sam Kingston, Johnny Collins, Patrick Galvin, Patrick Crowley, Colm McSweeney.

Subs: Aidan O'Sullivan, Tomas White.

Lotto Results


No winner of Monday nights lotto draw

3 Lucky Dip Winners

€50 - Sophie O'Connell, Edencurra

€25 - Eileen Harrington, Nedineagh

€25 - Michael O'Donovan, Manch

Next draw will take place on Monday 2nd October for a jackpot prize of €3,000