County Junior Hurling Championship - Randals v Ballinacurra - 2018-05-31 12:15:00

Memories of a 2009 county final were evoked when Randal Og and Ballinacurra lined out in the junior hurling championship second round, at Ovens on last Saturday evening.

That had been a close hard fought game, but Randals were dominant in this one from early on.

The ball broke from the throw in and Conor O'Donovan, gaining possession, set the standard as he lofted over the opening score.

Four from frees, in about as many minutes, shared betwen Seadhna Crowley and Eoin O'Donovan followed and then came the first goal of the game, set up by Donncha Collins, and finished off by Seadhna Crowley.

It was 1-5 to 0-0 after fifteen minutes.

Ballinacurra's first score, a point,  came on the sixteen minute mark. Two more points, from Seadhna Crowley and Eoin O'Donovan, and a point from a free by Ballinacurra left it at  1-7 to 0-2.

Seadhna Crowley, scorer of the first goal, returned the complement when he found Donncha Collins, ideally placed to crash home goal number two.

Ballinacurra got a point from a free, replied to by Sam Kingston coming up to half time when it was: Randal Og  2-8 Ballinacurra  0-3.

From the throw in, on resumption, Ballinacurra attacked strongly but found no way through a resolute and solid Randals' defence. Again, the scores, when they came, were at the other end. 

Goal number three, scored by Seadhna Crowley, was followed by points from Seamus Crowley, Johnny Collins, Shane Patterson and Patrick Crowley, who got two, to put the outcome beyond doubt. 

Ballinacurra scored two points during this period, but sharpshooters, Eoin and Seadhna continued to increase the mar with points from play and frees and  one from a "sixty five" sent over by Eoin.

Colm McSweeney sent over another point in between and then, with twenty three minutes gone, taking a pass from Sam Kingston, he hit home goal number four.

A Ballinacurra penalty, also brought a goal with a few minutes to go. 

Eoin  O'Sullivan closed the scoring with  a point in injury time.

Full time score; Randal Og  4-20  Ballinacurra  1-5.

Team: Patrick Lynch, Kieran O'Brien, Brian Dullea, Barry Lynch, Damien McCarthy, Gerard Lynch, Eoin O'Sullivan, Shane Patterson, Seamus Crowley, Johnny Collins, Sam Kingston, Eoin O'Donovan, Donncha Collins, Seadhna Crowley, Conor O'Donovan.

Subs: Patrick Crowley, Cian O'Neill, Stephen Crowley, Colm McSweeney, Aidan O'Sullivan.

Lotto Results


Results from Monday night's lotto draw, no winner of the jackpot

3 Lucky Dip Winners

€50 - Community Hospital, Dunmanway

€25 - Orla O'Brien, Ardea

€25 - Gabrielle Crowley, Inchafune

Next draw will take place on Monday 6th February for a jackpot prize of €1,300