Under 21 football championship - Randals v Goleen - 2019-05-07 19:45:00

Congratulations and well done to our under 21 footballers on a great win in the Carbery championship final against Goleen at Church Cross on Saturday evening last.

It was a bright dry evening but with a fresh north easterly eind which the temperatures down, as the teams lined out.

Goleen started strongly. They got a point from a free, in the first minute, and were two up after two minutes as well as coming to scoring a goal.

Conor O'Neill got Randals' first score, a point , quickly replied to by Goleen  and it was 0 -3 to 0-1 after ten minutes.

The game changed dramatically a minute later. Conor O'Neill sent in a high ball from the right wing and it  reached Eoin O'Sullivan who directed it to the Goleen net - 1-1 to 0-3.

Randals were in control for the remainder of the first half as they scored seven points without reply reply during that period. Daire Hayes, Eoin O'Sullivan, from a free, Daire Hayes again, Seamus Crowley, Donncha Collins , Cathal Duggan , from a free and Cian O'Neill were the scorers to make it  1-8 to 0-3 at half time.

There was some great defending on both sides in the second half and scores were hard to come by. Goleen had a few wides early on, but they scored from a free on thirty three minutes, and only a great save by Ciaran Murray prevented a goal a minute later.

Donncha Collins restored Randals' leading margin with a point but Goleen got it back and then at the start of the final quarter they got the goal that they needed - it was 1-9 to 1-5..

However the effects of the goal were quickly minimized by points from Padraig Galvin and Conor O'Neill and Randals were six ahead again.

Goleen got two more points in the closing minutes but Cian O'Neill got one in between and it was:  Randal Og  1-12  Goleen 1-7  at full time.

There were jubilant scenes as Carbery Board Secretary, Donie McCarthy presented the Timmy Cronin Cup to Randal Og captain, Daniel O'Sullivan.

Tributes were paid too, to the Goleen team for their part in a fine sporting game.

Team:  Ciaran Murrray, Conor O'Connell. Peter Collins, Padraig Galvin, Seamus Crowley, Cian O'Neill, Eoin O'Sullivan, Donncha Collins, Cathal Duggan, Ronan Daly, Conor O'Neill, Daire Hayes.

Subs : Diarmuid Hayes, Daniel O'Sullivan.

Lotto Results


No winner of Monday nights lotto draw

3 Lucky Dip Winners

€50 - Sophie O'Connell, Edencurra

€25 - Eileen Harrington, Nedineagh

€25 - Michael O'Donovan, Manch

Next draw will take place on Monday 2nd October for a jackpot prize of €3,000